Sunday, June 16, 2013

OTTAWA EXPLOSION WEEKEND 2013

 If you want a quick and easy daily schedule - click here: http://bit.ly/OXW2013SCHEDULE

Here's the run down of the entire week!




Monday June 17th!!!

Pre-OXW show! We’ve teamed up with Bruised Tongue to help present a hell of a show! Iceage & Lower are both from Denmark and are playing with local goons Pregnancy Scares. But “I hate Mondays!” you say. Get some of those bad vibes out of you at this show! https://www.facebook.com/events/110626139122912

Monday June 17th!
Babylon (317 Bank St)
Doors 8:30.
$12 advance or $15 at the door.

Iceage (Copenhagen, DK) http://iceagecopenhagen.blogspot.com/
Pregnancy Scares (Ottawa, ON) http://pregnancyscares.tumblr.com
Lower (Copenhagen, DK) http://walkonheads.blogspot.com 

Tuesday June 20th!!!

There's an awesome poster show happening at Oz Kafe featuring the work of a bunch of great artists!

Ben Jensen 
Dirty Donny Gilles
Adam Begin 
Julia Dickens
Ross Proulx 
Barbara Ochman
Adrienne Turner 
Mike Haddad
Kenneth J. MacLaurin 
Dave Forcier
Pierre Richardson 
Lolo Desrosiers-Guité
Curtis Delany 
Jennie Lynn MacDonald
Michael Zavacky
Mike Laderoute

DJ Male Nurse will be spinning tunes all night! Come party!

Oz Kafe (361 Elgin St)
9 pm. Free. 


Wednesday June 19th!!! 

This is the official kick-off to the insanity that is Ottawa Explosion Weekend! You may be asking yourself  “A weekend that starts on Wednesday?!” A: “It’s a state of mind, maaaaaan.” But for all of us squares, this first show is going to be short and sweet. You’ll get to see some great bands but you’ll be able to go to bed relatively early so you can go to work or sleep in till the afternoon or whatever you chose to do. https://www.facebook.com/events/464366463639924/

Wednesday June 19th!
Club Saw – Outside (67 Nicholas St)
Doors: 7:30. First band: 8:00 pm.  All Ages.
Free with OXW bracelet or $5 at the door.

TV Freaks (Hamilton, ON) http://teeveefreakzz.bandcamp.com
Bummer (Montreal, ON) http://bummermtl.bandcamp.com
Sam Coffey & the Iron Lungs http://samcoffeyandtheironlungs.bandcamp.com
Black Tower (Ottawa, ON) http://blacktower.bandcamp.com/


Thursday June 20th!!!
Now we’re getting cooking! Here’s the second night of Ottawa Explosion Weekend and the first night where there’s multiple shows going on. Show #1 is the earlier show in the Saw Courtyard. The other 3 are happening simultaneously afterward. Here’s where an OXW bracelet will come in handy. You can pop in from venue to venue to your heart’s content and only have to worry about buying drinks and having fun. All venues are VERY close to each other for maximize your party efficiency! https://www.facebook.com/events/471890279559081/ 

Thursday June 20th

SHOW #1
Club Saw – Outside (67 Nicholas St)
Doors: 7:30. First band: 8:00 pm.  All Ages.
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.

Big Dick (Ottawa, ON) http://big-dick.bandcamp.com
Yellowteeth (Sackville, NB) http://yellow-teeth.bandcamp.com/
White Pages (Cambridge, MA) http://whitepages.bandcamp.com
Dagger Eyes (Montreal/Ottawa) http://thedaggereyes.bandcamp.com/
Average Times (Ottawa, ON) http://averagetimes.bandcamp.com/

SHOW #2
Club Saw – Inside (67 Nicholas St)
Doors: 10:30 pm. First band: 11:00 pm. 19+
Free entry with OXW bracelet or if you paid for Thursday SHOW #1.
Otherwise: $10 at the door.
Bracelets get first crack at getting in. Limited capacity.

The Mandates (Calgary, AB) http://mandates.bandcamp.com
Mike Krol (Los Angeles, CA) http://mikekrol.bandcamp.com
Le Kid et les Marinellis (Montreal, QC) http://lesmarinellis.bandcamp.com
The Mouthbreathers (Sackville, NB) http://themouthbreathers.bandcamp.com
Mother’s Children (Ottawa, ON) http://motherschildren.bandcamp.com

SHOW #3
Mugshots (75 Nicholas St)
Doors at 10:30 pm. First band at 11:00 pm. 19+
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.

Prevenge (Montreal, QC) https://www.facebook.com/prevengemtl
Panic Attack (Quebec City, QC) http://panicattack.bandcamp.com
The Decay (Guelph, ON) http://thedecay.bandcamp.com
Camp Radio (Ottawa, ON) http://campradio.bandcamp.com
Finderskeepers (Ottawa, ON) http://finderskeepersmusic.com

SHOW #4
Café Dekcuf (221 Rideau St)
Doors: 10 pm. First band: 10:30 pm. 19+
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.

Drones (Ottawa, ON) First show. Ex-Buried Inside, Metz & Mountanaka
Shahman (Ottawa, ON) http://shahman.bandcamp.com
The Dark Plains (Ottawa, ON) First show. Ex-Shotmaker & Okara.
Scattered Clouds (Gatineau, QC) http://scatteredclouds.bandcamp.com

Friday June 21st!!!
If you’re from out of town or if you booked the day off – you’re in luck! You get to sleep in a little and you can also participate in the first HULLabaloo! We’ll be getting interprovincial and kicking it poolside in Hull, QC and hanging in a park eating BBQ. There’s an early show at Le Temporaire down the street from the pool. Afterwards, bracelet holders will be able to hit up Vertigo Records for a private party where two out of town bands will be playing! Regularly scheduled insanity begins in the Saw courtyard followed by 4 simultaneous shows including the infamous upstairs/downstairs action at Cafe Dekcuf/Mavericks and a collaboration with Arboretum & Wavelength that will have you partying in a church?!https://www.facebook.com/events/188324474654759/

HULLabaloo!
Parc Fontaine
120 rue Charlevoix
Hull, QC
1 pm – 3 pm. Free!
Pool Party! It’s a public pool and free to get in. Walk or bike across the Alexandria Bridge to get in on the fun. We’ll be BBQ’ing and hanging in the park too! Come on by!

Le Petit Chicago
Doors: 3 pm. First band: 3:30 pm.  
Free with OXW bracelet or $5 at the door.

Fet.Nat
+ Suprise Guest!

PRIVATE PARTY #1
Vertigo Records
193 Rideau St.
Doors: 5 pm. First band: 5:30 pm. All Ages.
OXW bracelets only! Limited capacity!

SHOW #1
Club Saw – Outside (67 Nicholas St)
Doors: 7:30. First band: 8:00 pm.  All Ages.
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.

Holy Cobras (Montreal, QC) http://myspace.com/holycobras
Needles//Pins (Vancouver, BC) http://needlesxpins.bandcamp.com
Nervosas (Columbus, OH) http://nervosas.bandcamp.com
Wyld Life (New York City, NY) http://wyldlife.bandcamp.com
Thee Nodes (Montreal, QC) http://theenodes.bandcamp.com

SHOW #2
Club Saw – Inside (67 Nicholas St)
Doors: 10:30 pm. First band: 11:00 pm. 19+
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.
Bracelets get first crack at getting in. Limited capacity.

Tyvek (Detroit, MI) http://tyvek.bandcamp.com
Ultrathin (Montreal, QC) http://ultrathin.bandcamp.com
Strange Attractor (Sudbury, ON) http://strangeattractor.bandcamp.com
Valley Boys (Toronto, ON) http://vboys666.bandcamp.com
The Soupcans (Toronto, ON) http://thesoupcans.bandcamp.com

SHOW #3
Arboretum Arts Festival & Wavelength Toronto presents...
HOLY SMOKES!

St. Alban’s Church (454 King Edward Ave)
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $8 at the door. $5 after midnight.
Doors: 8:00 pm. First band: 9:00 pm. Dance Party: 12:00 am.

Most People (Toronto, ON) http://mostpeopleband.bandcamp.com
The Yips (Ottawa, ON http://yips613.bandcamp.com
Fresh Snow (Toronto, ON) http://freshsnow.bandcamp.com
Del Bel (Guelph/Toronto) http://delbel.bandcamp.com
+ installation artist Alexandra MacKenzie

DJ Matty McGovern (Shameless/Visions/Silk)
DJ Pat Johnson (Night Moves, Silkken Laumann)
+ visuals by Hard Science


SHOW #4
Mavericks/Café Dekcuf (221 Rideau St.)
Doors: 9:00 pm. First band: 9:30 pm.
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.

Upstairs
DWYER RECORDS presents…
Dig It Up (Montreal, QC) http://digitup.bandcamp.com
Kloven Hoofs (Ottawa, ON) http://klovenhoofs.bandcamp.com
World War 4 (Ottawa, ON) http:///worldwar4.bandcamp.com
Stay Here (Toronto/Ottawa) http://stayhere.bandcamp.com/

Downstairs
The Creeps (Ottawa, ON) http://thecreeps.bandcamp.com
The Isotopes (Vancouver, BC) http://theisotopes.bandcamp.com
TBA

Saturday June 22nd!!! 
Are you still with us?! Saturday of course features our daytime show we’re you can bring your kids and have them point and stare at all of the shells of human beings wandering around the courtyard. Don’t forget to drink water and stay hydrated! We’ve got a bunch of bands playing during the day, we’ve got another OXW bracelet exclusive show at Vertigo Records and we’ve got another early evening Saw Courtyard show followed by another marathon night. Prepare thyself! https://www.facebook.com/events/190477557772291/

DAY SHOW #1
Club Saw – Outside (67 Nicholas St)
Doors: 12:00 pm. First band: 12:30 pm.  All Ages.
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.

New Swears (Ottawa, ON) http://newswears.bandcamp.com
Teenanger (Toronto, ON) http://teenangerrr.bandcamp.com

Sugar Stems (Milwaukee, WI) http://sugarstems.bandcamp.com
Chit Chat (Detroit, MI) http://chitchat.bandcamp.com
Street Meat (Ottawa, ON) http://streetmeat.bandcamp.com
Thalidomy Kids (Moncton, NB) http://thalidomykids.bandcamp.com
Astral Gunk (Sackville, NB) http://astralgunk.bandcamp.com
Noise Hounds (Sackville, NB) http://noisehounds.bandcamp.com
Robots! Everywhere!! (Ottawa, ON) http://everywhererobots.tumblr.com

PRIVATE PARTY #2
Vertigo Records
193 Rideau St.
Doors: 5:30 pm. First band: 6:00 pm. All Ages.
OXW bracelets only! Limited capacity!

BANDS TBA

SHOW #1
Club Saw – Outside (67 Nicholas St)
Doors: 7:30. First band: 8:00 pm.  All Ages.
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.

Nude Beach (Brooklyn, NY) http://nudebeach.bandcamp.com
Vacation (Cincinatti, OH) http://vacation.bandcamp.com
Steve Adamyk Band (Ottawa, ON) http://steveadamykband.com
The Tough Shits (Philadelphia, PA) http://soundcloud.com/thetoughshits
Sonic Avenues (Montreal, QC) http://sonicavenues.bandcamp.com
The Kidnappers (Hamburg, GER) http://reverbnation.com/thekidnappers
Feral Trash (Moncton, NB) http://feraltrash.bandcamp.com


SHOW #2
Club Saw – Inside (67 Nicholas St)
Doors: 10:30 pm. First band: 11:00 pm. 19+
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.
Bracelets get first crack at getting in. Limited capacity.

Dream Affair (New York City, NY) http://dreamaffair.bandcamp.com
Boyhood (Ottawa, ON) http://boyhoodsongs.bandcamp.com
Dumb Talk (Beekman, NY) http://dumbtalk.bandcamp.com
Silver Dapple (Montreal, QC) http://silverdapple.bandcamp.com
Corporate Ghost (Oklahoma City, OK) http://soundcloud.com/corporateghost

SHOW #3
Mugshots (75 Nicholas St)
Doors at 10:00 pm. First band at 10:30 pm. 19+
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.
Jetty Boys (Sheboygan, WI) http://jettyboys.bandcamp.com
Direct Hit! (Milwaukee, WI) http://directhit.bandcamp.com
Dee Cracks (Klagenfurt, AU) http://deecracks.bandcamp.com
Attention! (Toronto, ON) http://42069.org
Dead Weights (Ottawa, ON) http://deadweights.bandcamp.com

SHOW #4
Mavericks/Café Dekcuf (221 Rideau St.)
Doors: 7:00 pm. First band: 7:30 pm.
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.


Upstairs
DWYER RECORDS presents…
Alaskan (Ottawa, ON) http://alaskan.bandcamp.com
Milanku (Montreal, QC) http://milanku.bandcamp.com
Biipiigwan (Ottawa, ON) http://biipiigwan.bandcamp.com
Le Kraken (Montreal, QC) http://lekraken.bandcamp.com
Merdarahta (Gatineau, QC) http://merdarahta.bandcamp.com

Downstairs
Solids (Montreal, QC) http://solids.bandcamp.com
Crusades (Ottawa, ON) http://crusades.ca
*TBA*
Hassler (Toronto, ON) http://hasslertoronto.bandcamp.com
Chloroform (Ottawa, ON) http://chloroforming.bandcamp.com
Four Stroke (Ottawa, ON) http://myspace.com/fourstroke

SHOW #5
Babylon (317 Bank St.)
Doors: 9:00 pm. First band: 9:30 pm.
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $8 at the door.

BANDS TBA!

Sunday June 23rd!!!
Another fun BBQ out in the sun in the Saw Courtyard! Bruised Tongue has teamed up with Psychic Handshake Records from Montreal and Weird Canada to give you an amazing end to the Ottawa Explosion Weekend! Don’t worry we aren’t starting as early as we did on Saturday. https://www.facebook.com/events/554311847954068/


DAY SHOW #2
Club Saw – Outside (67 Nicholas St)
Doors: 2:00 pm. First band: 2:30 pm.  All Ages.
Free entry with OXW bracelet or $10 at the door.

BRUISED TONGUE, PSYCHIC HANDSHAKE & WEIRD CANADA presents…

Roberta Bondar (Ottawa, ON) http://robertabondarband.com
Mannequin (Montreal/Ottawa)
Babysitter (Victoria, BC) http://babysitter.bandcamp.com
The Pink Noise (Montreal, QC) http://myspace.com/thepinknoise2
Grime Kings (Belleville, ON) http://somethingugly.bandcamp.com
Swollen Eyes (Ottawa, ON) http://theswolleneyes.bandcamp.com


Buy bracelets: http://bit.ly/BUYOXW2013 or pick them up at Vertigo Records, Birdman, Antique Skateshop or Spaceman Music
Main facebook event: http://bit.ly/oxw2013
instagram: @ottawaexplosion
#OXW

No comments: